Beginner Level Kabbalah

Basics in Kabbalah and Chassidut: Arich Anpin

The Stages of the Creative Process
from God's Infinite Light to Our Physical World

 Or Ein Sof ("God's Infinite Light")
Sod Ha'Tzimtzum ("The Secret of 'Contraction'")
 Adam Kadmon ("Primordial Man")
Akudim, Nekudim, Brudim ("Binding, Points, Connection")
 Keter D'Atzilut ("The 'Crown' of Emanation")
 Olam Ha'Atzilut ("The World of Emanation")
 ABiYA (The Four Worlds: Atzilut, Beriah, Yetzirah, Asiyah)


Keter D'Atzilut ("The 'Crown' of Emanation")
Eight stages of the rectification process of the world of Atzilut which begins with the rectification of its "crown."

Introduction: Partzufei Ha'Keter (The "Figures of the Crown")
Atik Yomin  Arich Anpin Reisha D'lo Ityada Reisha D'Ayin
Reisha D'Arich Gulgalta Mocha Stima'ah Dikna


Arich Anpin
"The Long Countenance" or "The Infinitely Patient One"

Arich Anpin is the external partzuf of keter, corresponding to the super-conscious power of will in the soul. Arich Anpin is generally identified with the concept of "infinity" or "infinite power," for Arich, "long," implies infinite extension.

As explained above, Arich Anpin, relative to the entire world of Atzilut to come, is referred to as "the higher of the lower." Every state of being or world begins with the power of will to emanate or create a "world" or "environment" conducive to propagate and "home" a specific state of consciousness. The inherent "patience" of Arich Anpin is the patience necessary to allow for a totally new realm of reality to develop and mature into being.

The term Arich Anpin, "the Long Face," derives from the Biblical phrase Erech Apaim, literally "long nose," implying "long breath." While the idiom "short breath" implies a state of anger due to impatience, "long breath" implies a state of infinite patience and mercy. In fact, the thirteen principles of Divine mercy are symbolized in Kabbalah by the thirteen parts of the "beard" of Arich Anpin, as will be explained.


 Previous Next



Related posts

Basics in Kabbalah: Introduction – The Inner Dimension

Imry GalEinai

Basics in Kabbalah: What is Kabbalah? Part 3 – Contemplative Kabbalah

Imry GalEinai

The Secret Library: Introduction to the Inner Dimension of the Torah

Gal Einai

Leave a Comment

Verified by MonsterInsights