Two elements of the animal sacrifice brought in the Temple, the “choice fats” (chelev) and the “blood” (dam) are offered exclusively to God. (We learn from this that anything that is choice should be given to our Creator). Neither the person bringing the sacrifice nor the priest can partake of them. This prohibition is eternal. Even today, Jews do not eat the choice fats or blood of the kosher animal. In order to understand the reason for this prohibition, we must explore the inner significance of these two elements of the sacrifice.