Glossary of Kabbalah and Chassidut: Letter “X-Y”

And Other Hebrew Words from the Website

Yabok is the name of the river which Jacob transversed upon entering Israel, before his encounter with his brother Esau.
In Kabbalah, an acronym for Yichud ["unification"], Berachah ["blessing"], Kedushah ["holiness"]). Of the varying interpretations with regard to the three levels of this most fundamental idiom and teaching of Kabbalah–yichudberachah and kedushah–the most often cited and expounded upon in the classic texts of Chassidut is that the three concepts correspond to the three general ascending levels of the soul: nefeshruach and neshamah; or one's "world" of action–his ability to relate and unite with outer reality, one's "world" of emotion–the blessing of abundant emotive energy, and one's "world" of meditation–the experience of holiness as a transcendent connection with the realm of the Divine.
The word Yabok equals 112 in gematria, the combined value of the two Names (referred to together as G-d's "full Name") Havayah (26)–Elokim (86); and as well the combined value of the three Names: Ekyeh (21), Havayah (26), Adnut (65), which themselves correspond to the three levels of Yabok.
Yachid ("The Single One"):
For further explanation see: Ten stages of G-d's Infinite Light–Yachid.
Yamim Tovim: plural yom tov.
Yechidah ("The singular one"):
Yechidah is the highest of the five levels of soul, which will only manifest itself at the time ofMashiach. See soul.
Yemot Hamashiach ("The days of Mashiach" — Messianic era):
See Olam Haba.
Yesh or Yeshut ("Somethingness"):
Yesh (or yeshut) is material reality or the state of independent self-consciousness; egotism, inChassidic terminology.
Yesh me'ayin (Somethingness from nothingness):
Yesh me'ayin is the process of creation ex nihilo.
Yesod ("Foundation"):
Yesod is the ninth of the ten sefirot, and the sixth of the emotive attributes.
For further explanation see: The Divine Emanations–Yesod.
Yetzirah ("Formation"):
Yetzirah is the third of the four worlds of Creation, wherein the ethereal ?substance? of Beriah is endowed with spirit and generic form; the consciousness of yesh m'yesh; the spiritual abode of the chayot; the origin of ruach in the soul of man.
For further explanation see: The Worlds of Abiya.
Yichud ("unification"):
1. A Yichud is a type of tikun in which one does not need to separate good from evil but rather focus one's consciousness on the inherent spiritual unity between two apparently disparate concepts. See birur.
2. (pl. yichudim): A specific spiritual exercise of this nature.
3.The spiritual state associated with the sefirah of Da'at.
For further explanation see: The Powers of the Soul–Yichud.
Yirah ("fear"):
Yirah is the spiritual state associated with the sefirah of gevurah.
For further explanation see: The Powers of the Soul–Yirah.
Yisrael Sabba ("Israel the Elder" [Aramaic]):
Yisrael Sabba is the lower of the two primary partzufim which develop from the sefirah ofchochmah (which together are referred to as the general partzuf of Abba).
For further explanation see: Olam HaAtzilutYisrael Sabba.
Yom Kippur ("Day of Atonement"):
Yom Kippur is the holiest day of the Jewish year, marked by fasting and teshuvah, particularly through confession of sin.
Yom Tov ("A good day"):
Yom tov is a festive holidays on which, with certain exceptions, weekday work is prohibited just as on Shabbat.
Yud is the 10th letter of the Hebrew alphabet.
For further explanation see Alef-Beit Significances.
Also see: The Mystical Significance of the Hebrew Letters (including an image and audio pronunciation of each letter).

Related posts

Glossary of Kabbalah and Chassidut – Letters "X-Y"

Imry GalEinai

Glossary of Kabbalah and Chassidut – Letter "A"

Imry GalEinai

Glossary of Kabbalah and Chassidut – Letter "L"

Imry GalEinai

Leave a Comment

Verified by MonsterInsights